Enable slideshows with
PUBLISHED
Richard Brookes
"WHEAL BETSY MINE PUMPING ENGINE HOUSE DARTMOOR DEVON" stock image

WHEAL BETSY MINE PUMPING ENGINE HOUSE DARTMOOR DEVON

The iconic Victorian engine house with leaning chimney stack of Wheal Betsy, an abandoned silver, copper, arsenic, zinc and lead mine. The ruins are on Kingsett Down above Cholwell Brook valley near Mary Tavy, Tavistock, Dartmoor, Devon SW England, UK. Sadly, it is the last standing engine house on Dartmoor National Park located at Job's Shaft, one of several shafts working the north-south lode for over 1km. The area has been mined over the last few centuries but this mine opened c.1740 or earlier. Water power (using over shot wheels) was used up until c.1868 when this building was built. Constructed from locally quarried granite stone blocks it housed a steam powered Cornish beam pumping engine to pump water from the mine. The operation employed 128 workers at this point. The mine closed and was abandoned in 1877 after a fall in lead prices made extraction uneconomic. The mine was also known as Prince Arthur Consols and North Wheal Friendship. Nearby Wheal Friendship was once the largest copper mine in the world. The surrounding area is littered with mining workings and remains such as old shafts, leats, water reservoirs and spoil heaps. This and many similar old abandoned tin mines nearby and in Cornwall are protected scheduled monuments within the UNESCO Cornwall & West Devon Mining Landscape World Heritage site (no.1215). The building is now owned by the National Trust.

Image dimensions: 2932 x 3950 pixels

WHEAL BETSY MIN...

More Info

WHEAL BETSY MINE PUMPING ENGINE HOUSE DARTMOOR DEVON

The iconic Victorian engine house with leaning chimney stack of Wheal Betsy, an abandoned silver, copper, arsenic, zinc and lead mine. The ruins are on Kingsett Down above Cholwell Brook valley near Mary Tavy, Tavistock, Dartmoor, Devon SW England, UK. Sadly, it is the last standing engine house on Dartmoor National Park located at Job's Shaft, one of several shafts working the north-south lode for over 1km. The area has been mined over the last few centuries but this mine opened c.1740 or earlier. Water power (using over shot wheels) was used up until c.1868 when this building was built. Constructed from locally quarried granite stone blocks it housed a steam powered Cornish beam pumping engine to pump water from the mine. The operation employed 128 workers at this point. The mine closed and was abandoned in 1877 after a fall in lead prices made extraction uneconomic. The mine was also known as Prince Arthur Consols and North Wheal Friendship. Nearby Wheal Friendship was once the largest copper mine in the world. The surrounding area is littered with mining workings and remains such as old shafts, leats, water reservoirs and spoil heaps. This and many similar old abandoned tin mines nearby and in Cornwall are protected scheduled monuments within the UNESCO Cornwall & West Devon Mining Landscape World Heritage site (no.1215). The building is now owned by the National Trust.

Image dimensions: 2932 x 3950 pixels